On Pointe Nutrition

What’s all the hype about: Chia Seeds

Leave a comment

Lately, I am noticed that chia seeds have taken stage in the media. So I figured since they are the talk of different food and nutrition articles I would let you in on all the awesome things to know about chia seeds. So here goes!

Chia seeds have a light nutty taste and they are super easy to add to any recipe. They are the richest non- marine form of Omega 3’s and an excellent source of fiber. Here are some great reasons why you should try these little seeds.

  1. They can help you lose weight! Yay, they actually help reduce food cravings.
  2. High fiber content, keeps you full for a longer period of time. Chia seeds actually absorb 10x their weight in water, and in the intestine this forms a bulky gel that helps to get rid of waste in your body and keep you regular!
  3. Like I said before, its the riches plant form of Omega 3’s.
  4. Help control blood pressure, due to the high level of omega 3’s it helps to normalize BP.
  5. Helps to better control blood sugar levels.
  6. Contains 6X more calcium than milk!
  7. They are easier for your body to digest than flaxseeds and you do not need to grind them up to absorb the health benefits!

Ways to Enjoy!

  1. Eat them Raw. If you love the nutty flavor alone, go for it!
  2. You can soak them in fruit juice.
  3. Add them to quinoa, millet, pasta, etc.
  4. Add them into baked goods like breads and biscuits.
  5. Sprinkle them on your salads.


I personally love to add them to my greek yogurt!

So Go ahead and  get your Chia Seed on!! 

Author: On Pointe NUTRITION

I am a Registered Dietitian and Massage Therapist providing nutrition counseling for many different topics, but food allergies holds a special place in my heart. I started my higher education at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte while dancing professionally with a ballet company in the Charlotte area and earning a Bachelor of Arts in Dance from UNCC and continued to dance professionally. After graduating I moved to Atlanta, GA to further my dancing career. After being injured several times I decided to attend Massage Therapy School at Atlanta School of Massage. I worked for sports teams, spas and chiropractors but something else was missing. I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2008 and that is when I decided to go back to school and become a Registered Dietitian. I started my journey at Life University in 2008, I graduated Cum Laude, completed an internship, passed the RD exam, became licensed and here I am. I have always been interested in nutrition especially since I was dancing professionally at such a high level; I really wanted to fuel my body with the right foods. Turns out I really was doing myself a disservice because I had no idea that I was intolerant to gluten and soy. I want to help people realize that their common digestive problems, skin problems, joint pain just to name a few can and normally are nutrition and nutrient deficient related. This is why it is SO important to seek nutrition advice from someone who is credentialed to give proper nutrition advice, anybody can push a supplement or tell you to eat fewer calories, but a registered dietitian can tell you why.

Leave a comment