On Pointe Nutrition

Inflammation Flighting Smoothie

Leave a comment

I hardly EVER watch Dr. OZ, but the one day I turn it on, this smoothie was being featured so I decided to share it with you. Paula Abdul drinks this- so thats why you should drink it. KIDDING!!

 This smoothie recipe contains foods that are high in antioxidants, vitamins and minerals that help to reduce the over all inflammation within the body. It is a good idea to have one of these if not every day, than maybe at least 3 times per week IN THE MORNING. So here it is….

1 Cup Kale

1 Cup Spinach

1.4 tbsp hemp seeds

1tsp chia seeds

1/2 avocado

1/2 banana

1/2 apple

coconut water

Ice

 

Check it out, let me know how you like it!

Author: On Pointe NUTRITION

I am a Registered Dietitian and Massage Therapist providing nutrition counseling for many different topics, but food allergies holds a special place in my heart. I started my higher education at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte while dancing professionally with a ballet company in the Charlotte area and earning a Bachelor of Arts in Dance from UNCC and continued to dance professionally. After graduating I moved to Atlanta, GA to further my dancing career. After being injured several times I decided to attend Massage Therapy School at Atlanta School of Massage. I worked for sports teams, spas and chiropractors but something else was missing. I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2008 and that is when I decided to go back to school and become a Registered Dietitian. I started my journey at Life University in 2008, I graduated Cum Laude, completed an internship, passed the RD exam, became licensed and here I am. I have always been interested in nutrition especially since I was dancing professionally at such a high level; I really wanted to fuel my body with the right foods. Turns out I really was doing myself a disservice because I had no idea that I was intolerant to gluten and soy. I want to help people realize that their common digestive problems, skin problems, joint pain just to name a few can and normally are nutrition and nutrient deficient related. This is why it is SO important to seek nutrition advice from someone who is credentialed to give proper nutrition advice, anybody can push a supplement or tell you to eat fewer calories, but a registered dietitian can tell you why.

Leave a comment